NEON – Multi-territorial online licensing

    NEON – Multi-territorial online licensing

    AKM Austromechana
    The software, developed in close cooperation with AKM, enables more efficient processing of online usage reports and a more precise assignment of the music titles heard to the authors - not only for music uses within Austria, but also internationally. Thus the royalties can be distributed to the musicians even faster and more accurately.

    The importance of music streaming in the music market grows continuously. For this reason, AKM and austro mechana are taking the next step with NEON to optimise the enforcement of their members’ copyrights in the field of online music.

    “Our goal was to ensure that the online uses of our members’ works were no longer licensed only for their own country, but internationally (multi-territorial licensing). Due to the expected multiplication of the data volumes to be processed for this purpose, it was essential to develop a new software tool that would largely automate the previously manual processes”

    Franz Grabensteiner, head of the licensing division for sound carriers at AKM / austro mechana and project manager of NEON

    NEON is a further development of the previously used license format tool also developed by RUBICON. With the help of NEON, usage reports from 47 countries are now billed – and this with a massive increase in data volume due to the changed consumer behaviour of music listeners, in which music streaming increasingly pushes the CD and even music downloads into the background. The approximately 11 billion data lines produced each year are processed in a shorter time and with better quality. “We expect an annual increase in data volumes of 20%. Due to this fact, the focus of NEON’s conception was clearly on scalability, but also on automation and outstanding usability,” explains Dr. Christian Kenngott, project manager at RUBICON.

    How does NEON work?

    NEON collects and processes the usage data reported by music service providers such as Spotify, Apple, Google, Youtube, Amazon, Deezer & Co. This is predominantly automated, starting with the plausibility check and data import through to the application of the tariffs agreed between the contractual partners. This is followed by the assignment of the usage data to the AKM works catalogue and the invoicing as well as the preparation of the accounting. Finally, the determined data is transferred to the system in which the royalties are invoiced and paid out to the musicians.
    License calculations with NEON

    License calculations with NEON

    Automated title matching

    The heart of the new solution is a title matching component designed by RUBICON, which assigns the song titles used to the authors from the AKM catalogue of works. The assignment is largely automated, taking into account Title IDs, ISRCs, ISWCs or by means of titles and performers using advanced text matching algorithms. Only uses to which no unambiguous work information can be automatically assigned are optionally checked by hand. Each manual assignment improves the rate of automatic assignments for future processing. With the introduction of NEON, the accuracy of title matching could be increased to 75%. License fees can be claimed for all clearly assigned songs. The respective provider receives an invoice for these and the artists can receive the money to which they are entitled.
    Automatic Title Matching

    Automatic title matching: Assignment of uses to authors

    Further functions

    NEON can handle different tariffs, license shares and currencies for the individual countries. Subsequent charges can be made at any time. In addition, the current status of licensing processes can be conveniently checked at any time. Due to the large amount of data, these often run over a period of several days. Special requirements of the providers can be considered, especially the formats used for usage reports and invoicing.

    Further, NEON has a comprehensive reporting module based on Kibana, which makes it possible to query any statistics such as licensed titles per country or provider quickly and present them in a visually appealing way.

    Agile development in close cooperation

    NEON was developed in an agile approach in short feedback cycles. "An important success factor was the close and interdisciplinary cooperation with the customer," says Dr. Christian Kenngott of RUBICON.
    "We are very satisfied with the result. After a development phase lasting nine months, we were able to start operation on schedule. Thanks to NEON, we can now offer our members even better service and they get their money faster."

    Franz Grabensteiner from AKM / austro mechana draws a positive conclusion

    Customer


    AKM and austromechana represent the copyrights of composers, music lyricists and music publishers in Austria and collect royalties in trust for their members.

    Highlights

    • Faster processing of online usage reports
    • Higher hit accuracy when assigning uses to authors
    • Multi-territorial licensing
    • More precise and faster payment of royalties

    Facts & Figures

    • Processing of 11 billion data rows per year
    • 20% increase in data volume per year
    • Matching rate of 75% (continuous improvement through self-learning system)
    • 10% revenue increase in 2018 due to cross-border licensing

    Technologies

    • Bootstrap
    • Angular
    • ASP .NET Core
    • Rebus
    • Lucene .NET
    • Kibana / Elasticsearch
     
    CONTACT

NEON – Multi-Territoriale Online-Lizenzierung

    NEON – Multi-Territoriale Online-Lizenzierung

    AKM Austromechana
    Die in enger Abstimmung mit AKM entwickelte Software NEON ermöglicht eine effizientere Verarbeitung von Online-Nutzungsmeldungen sowie eine genauere Zuordnung der gehörten Musiktitel zu den Urhebern – und das nicht nur für Musiknutzungen innerhalb Österreichs, sondern international. Dadurch können die Tantiemen noch rascher und treffsicherer an die Musiker ausgeschüttet werden.

    Die Bedeutung von Music Streaming nimmt am Musikmarkt immer weiter zu. Aus diesem Grund setzen AKM und austro mechana mit NEON den nächsten Schritt, um die Geltendmachung der Urheberrechte ihrer Mitglieder im Bereich Online-Musik zu optimieren.

    „Unser Ziel war es, dass die Online-Nutzungen der Werke unserer Mitglieder nicht mehr nur für das eigene Land lizenziert werden, sondern international (multi-territoriale Lizenzierung). Aufgrund der zu erwartenden Vervielfachung der Datenmengen, die dafür verarbeitet werden müssen, war die Entwicklung eines neuen Software-Tools, das die bislang manuellen Prozesse weitgehend automatisiert, unumgänglich“

    Franz Grabensteiner, Leitung Geschäftsbereich Lizenzen Tonträger bei AKM / austromechana und Projektleiter NEON

    NEON ist eine Weiterentwicklung des bisher verwendeten und ebenfalls von RUBICON entwickelten Lizenzformat-Tools. Mithilfe von NEON werden nun Nutzungsmeldungen aus 47 Ländern abgerechnet – und das bei massiv steigendem Datenaufkommen aufgrund des geänderten Konsumverhaltens der Musikhörer. Music Streaming drängt die CD und Musik-Downloads immer mehr in den Hintergrund. Die rund 11 Milliarden Datenzeilen, die beim Streaming pro Jahr anfallen, werden in kürzerer Zeit und besserer Qualität verarbeitet. „Wir erwarten eine jährliche Steigerung der Datenmengen von 20%. Aufgrund dieser Tatsache lag der Fokus bei der Konzeption von NEON klar auf Skalierbarkeit, aber auch auf Automatisierung und herausragender Usability“, erklärt Dr. Christian Kenngott, Projektleiter bei RUBICON.

    Wie funktioniert NEON?

    Mit NEON werden die von Music Service Providern, wie Spotify, Apple, Google, Youtube, Amazon, Deezer & Co gemeldeten Nutzungsdaten erfasst und verarbeitet. Das erfolgt überwiegend automatisiert, angefangen bei der Plausibilitätsprüfung und dem Datenimport bis zur Anwendung der zwischen den Vertragspartnern vereinbarten Tarife. Danach erfolgt die Zuordnung der Nutzungsdaten zum AKM Werkekatalog und die Rechnungserstellung sowie die Vorbereitung der Abrechnung. Schließlich werden die ermittelten Daten an das System übergeben, in dem die Abrechnung und Auszahlung der Tantiemen an die Musiker erfolgt.
    AKM Neon Lizenzabrechnung

    Lizenzberechnungen mit NEON

    Automatisiertes Title Matching

    Herzstück der neuen Lösung ist eine von RUBICON konzipierte Title Matching Komponente, die die Zuordnung der genutzten Songtitel zu den Urhebern aus dem AKM Werkekatalog vornimmt. Die Zuordnung erfolgt zum Großteil automatisiert unter Berücksichtigung von Title IDs, ISRCs, ISWCs oder anhand von Titel und Interpreten über fortgeschrittene Text Matching Algorithmen. Nur Nutzungen, denen maschinell keine eindeutigen Werkeinformationen zugeordnet werden können, werden optional noch per Hand überprüft. Jede manuelle Zuordnung verbessert die Quote der automatischen Zuordnungen für zukünftige Verarbeitungen. Die Treffergenauigkeit des Title Matchings konnte mit der Einführung von NEON auf 75% gesteigert werden. Für alle eindeutig zugeordneten Songs können Lizenzgebühren geltend gemacht werden. Der jeweilige Provider bekommt für diese eine Rechnung und den zugeordneten Künstlern kann das ihnen zustehende Geld zugeteilt werden.
    Automatic Title Matching

    Automatic Title Matching: Zuordnung von Nutzungen zu Urhebern

    Weitere Funktionen

    NEON kann mit unterschiedlichen Tarifen, Lizenzanteilen und Währungen für die einzelnen Länder umgehen. Nachverrechnungen können jederzeit durchgeführt werden. Außerdem kann der aktuelle Status von Lizensierungsvorgängen jederzeit bequem überprüft werden. Diese laufen ja aufgrund der großen Datenmengen sehr oft über einen Zeitraum von mehreren Tagen. Besondere Anforderungen der Provider können berücksichtigt werden, insbesondere auch die verwendeten Formate für Nutzungsmeldungen und Rechnungslegung.

    Darüber hinaus verfügt NEON über ein auf Kibana basierendes, umfangreiches Reporting-Modul, das es ermöglicht, beliebige Statistiken wie lizensierte Titel pro Land oder Provider rasch abzufragen und visuell ansprechend zu präsentieren.

    Agile Entwicklung in enger Zusammenarbeit

    NEON wurde in agiler Vorgehensweise in kurzen Feedback-Zyklen entwickelt. „Ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor war die enge und interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunden“, stellt Dr. Christian Kenngott von RUBICON fest.
    „Wir sind mit dem Ergebnis sehr zufrieden. Nach einer neun Monate dauernden Entwicklungsphase konnten wir den Betrieb planmäßig aufnehmen. Dank NEON können wir unseren Mitgliedern nun einen noch besseren Service bieten und sie kommen rascher zu ihrem Geld.“

    resümiert Franz Grabensteiner von AKM / austromechana

    Kunde


    AKM und austromechana vertreten die Urheberrechte der Komponisten, Musiktextautoren und Musikverleger in Österreich und heben treuhändig Tantiemen für ihre Mitglieder ein.

    Highlights

    • Schnellere Verarbeitung von Online-Nutzungsmeldungen
    • Höhere Treffergenauigkeit bei Zuordnung von Nutzungen zu Urhebern
    • Multi-territoriale Lizenzierung
    • Präzisere und raschere Auszahlung von Tantiemen

    Zahlen & Fakten

    • Verarbeitung von 11 Milliarden Datenzeilen pro Jahr
    • 20% Steigerung der Datenmenge pro Jahr
    • Matching-Quote von 75% (laufende Verbesserung durch selbstlernendes System)
    • 10% Umsatzplus 2018 durch länderübergreifende Lizenzierung

    Technologien

    • Bootstrap
    • Angular
    • ASP .NET Core
    • Rebus
    • Lucene .NET
    • Kibana / Elasticsearch
     
    KONTAKT